MINUTES: MSU FACULTY EMERITI ASSOCIATION STEERING COMMITTEE MEETING Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Members present: Pauline Adams, Christine Birdwell, Jenny Bond, John Forsyth, Charles Gliozzo, Grover Hudson, Bruce Miller, James Rainey, David Rovner, and Al Sparrow.

Chairperson Gliozzo called the meeting to order at 1:05pm in Room 204 of the Center for International Programs.

- 1. Charles Gliozzo welcomed Jenny Bond to the committee.
- 2. Minutes of Wednesday March 16, 2011 approved with day of the April meeting changed to Tuesday, not Wednesday, April 19, 2011.
- 3. Rainey summarized the work of the Awards Committee leading to the April 7, 2011 presentations at the annual faculty retirement luncheon. The Committee consisted of James Rainey, Linda Nelson, and Hal Hepler. Individuals awards for outstanding contributions to the university by a retired faculty were made to Walter Benenson and Charles Gliozzo. The award for the unit making outstanding contributions to retired faculty was given to the G. Robert Vincent Voice Library and the University Archives and Historical Collections. The committee substantially revised the FEA printed brochure.
- 4. Pauline Adams reported on the April Board of Trustees meeting, which focused on students. 20 women, 11 men and 2 absent students graduated with 4.0 cumulative grade point average. An undergraduate student presented her research on diabetic bone marrow neuropathy and related issues. A graduate student doing research in Burma presented his work and wants to bring a case against Burma's war crimes. President Simon: 33,800 more studnets than last year, will see a 15% decrease in state appropriations in 2011-2011, faculty salaries up 2% health care up 5% budget reduction was 0.5% for 2010-2011. Raising housing and dining rates 4.9% Hiring 2 new investment managers.
- 5. Gary Stone reported by memo via Gliozzo that the April Faculty Council meeting focused on faculty compensation.
- 6. Grover Hudson reported on March 22 academic council meeting President Simon discussed governor's proposal of a 15% decrease in state funding for higher education. MSU graduation rates would fare well if that were one of the metrics used by the state for performance. Expected tuition increase of 7%. There is an energy transition plan to cope with the power plants reraching their maximum output in 2023.
- 7. Bruce Miller commented on the Bowditch and Rush presentations were successful. Economist Charles Ballard is invited for 11 May, 10 am Radiology Auditorium.
- 8. It was decided that Forsyth would act as a back-up to Rovner if email communication were needed when Rovner was unavailable or busy with travel. The Office of Faculty

- Organization and Development is still developing its new website so moving the web site to the hands of the FEA is taking longer than expected.
- 9. There was a discussion of the list of terms of membership on the Sterring Committee. A revised list which reached the concurrence of the committe is an addendum to these minutes. The nominees for terms for 2011-2014 are Pauline Adams, Jenny Bond, Charles Gliozzo, and Evelyn Rivera.
- 10. Pauline Adams, interviewd Terry Denbow. Suggested adding Kay Rout Dee Cook, Gladys Beckwith, Peg Bubolz, and Tom Johnson to the possible interviewees.
- 11. Magazine collection delayed until East Circle Drive is open following construction. Will ask Karen Casey if a spring 2012 collection would be feasible.

The meeting adjourned at 2:50 pm.

The next meeting will be the annual Spring meeting Monday, May 16, 2011 2:30 - 4:30 pm in the Corniche Room at Kellogg Center.

Submitted by: John Forsyth

Addendum Michigan State University Faculty Emeriti Association Steering Committee April 2011

| Name | Term 1 | Term 2 | Term3 |
|--------------------|-----------|-----------|-----------|
| Pauline Adams | 2008-2011 | 2010-2013 | |
| Christine Birdwell | 2009-2012 | | |
| Lawrence Fischer | 2007-2010 | 2010-2013 | |
| John Forsyth | 2004-2007 | 2007-2010 | 2010-2013 |
| Charles Gliozzo | 2005-2008 | 2008-2011 | |
| David Greenbaum | 2004-2007 | 2007-2010 | 2010-2013 |
| Grover Hudson | 2009-2012 | | |
| Bruce Miller | 2010-2013 | | |
| James Rainey | 2010-2013 | | |
| David Rovner | 2004-2007 | 2007-2010 | 2010-2013 |
| Albert Sparrow | 2007-2010 | 2010-2013 | |
| Jim Stapleton | 2009-2012 | | |
| Gary Stone | 2004-2007 | 2007-2010 | |
| Ray Vlasin | 2009-2012 | | |

Past Chairpersons

Gary Stone: 2004-2005, 2005-2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008

John Forsyth: 2008-2009, 2009-2010

Nominees for 2011-2012

Pauline Adams Jenny Bond Charles Gliozzo Evelyn Rivera

| Former Members | |
|----------------------|--|
| Lois Bader | 2008-2011 |
| Maxine Ferris | 2007-2010 |
| Roger Funk | 2004-2007 |
| Dorothy Harper-Jones | 2006-2009 |
| Robert Hollingworth | 2008-2011 |
| Iwao Ishino | 2004-2007 |
| Robert Hudson | 2008-2011 |
| William Kimball | 2004-2007 |
| Linda Nelson | 2007-2010 |
| Matthew Medick | 2004-2007 |
| Richard Reid | 2005-2008 |
| Evelyn Rivera | 2007-2010 |
| Fred VanOsdall | 2006-2009 |
| Allyn Shaw | Office of Faculty Organization and Development |